Skip to content

1940’s slang

August 6, 2010
by

Slang is constantly changing and evolving, and as I listed to a couple of kids the other day on the train talking, I could hardly understand what the meaning of their words were.  It made me laugh, I am still in my early thirties, so quickly does it all change, yet I am obviously on the out as far as young people go.  So I thought I would do a bit of research and find the slang of the 1940’s!

It is amazing how many of these are still being used such as ‘old hat’ and ‘pass the buck’, but then I admit, I have never heard of ‘lettuce’ for money!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

