Skip to content

Melbourne Cup.. who are you on?

November 2, 2010

So today is the day!  As you can tell I am a bit late in writing today, but that is because I have been busy organising cupcakes and canapes!  We are having a bit of a cup thing, but I am still on my morning cup of tea, so it is still safe for me to talk to you!

Firstly a big congrats to Judy Ross from Tenambit who is today having a great time at the Melbourne Cup Luncheon today with the girls from Covelli!  I wish I could be there, but I am in Melbourne so it is a little far.. instead I can hear my friends cheering on the horses from the lounge.

Race goers at the Flemington Racecourse, Sharon Coulthard, Fiona Moloney and Dustie Cockayne from Cairns. Photo: Eddie Jim (The Age)

So what I want to know is how you fare today?  I have outlaid only a small amount this year, each of the five in my family have $2 on each race and $10 on the cup.  So $28 each!  It is a competition to see who comes out on top at the end of the day.  So far Ian and Zoe are winning with $8.10 each for their $6 outlay!  I am not doing so well.. hehe.

But who are you on for the cup??  For me I am on Descarado, so fingers crossed!  Let us know how you do today!

To finish I thought I would bring you a set of seven FAST facts.. did you know..

  • In 1860 the first Melbourne Cup ever was won by Archer
  • The Melbourne Cup was initially run on a Thursday
  • In 1870 they postponed the Cup for one week due to rain
  • 1877 was the first public holiday for the Melbourne Cup
  • In 1946 the photo finish system was introduced
  • In 1962 The first Fashions on the Field was held
  • In 1972 the Melbourne Cup went metric, so is now slightly shorter than the traditional two mile distance

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

