Skip to content

Fashions on the Field – Melbourne Cup 2010

November 3, 2010

Bettie Page Captain Flare Dress in Finals of Fashions on the Field at the Melbourne Cup. Photo by Mitch Bear (Moonee Valley Leader)

Did you see our Bettie Page Dress yesterday???? Going against being a good host I shushed all our guests when I saw this particular dress in the finals of the Fashions on the Field.  Yup it seems to be the very same Bettie Page Captain Navy Pencil Dress that we sell.  I love how she has paired the dress with red and white accessories, but unfortunately it appears that red is what the judges were really looking for, awarding the prize to the red dress you can see there in the background.

You can see all the photos from the fashions on the field at the Moonee Valley Leader.

Victoria Vezzano. Photo by Simon Schluter (The Age)

But what other fashions were to be had?  Well I am going to focus on one thing GLOVES!  We reported a while back that gloves were coming back in, well they are here now, so if you are looking to accessorise next time you go to the races be sure to pick out a pair of gloves.

You will quickly see from all of these glove shots, that the gloves are short, either sitting just on the wrist or are just covering the palm of the hand like our Bettie Page dress wearer above demonstrates.

But one of my favourites was this entire look by Victoria Vezzano a Fashions on the Field Entrant who was one of the few women who dressed for the changeable weather conditions.  I love the purple gloves and think the vintage look is fantastically elegant.  Edited to add: Victoria is also a designer and her website is Vezzano.

Fashions on the Field. Photos by Simon Schluter (The Age)

Next I have the black gloved girls of Kelly Gray and Kirby Selchow, both teaming their looks with short black gloves.

But it was not all black, despite the mud and rain which threatened to turn anything into a dirty shade of brown, women were still brave enough to go for white!

Elvira Bafto for Fashions on the Field. Photo by Simon Schluter (The Age)

This photo here of Elvira Bafto is gorgeous.  I love the look of this elegant red and white dress and the cape is, well given the weather, sensible! Edited to add: Elvira Bafto is a designer and you can find her stunning attire on her website Utopia Couture.

Anthony Cabon designed dress. Photo by Simon Schluter (The Age)

But it was not all thick winter style leather gloves as Silvana Roman demonstrated with her gloved look, choosing to go with almost lace like wrist length gloves that worked perfectly with her outfit.

Interestingly enough I recognised the designer of this look as being Anthony Capon who was the winner of Project Runway Australia.  It was a surprise actually that he didn’t upstage his model as he is known for his eccentric tastes.

Jennifer Hawkins at the Birdcage. Photo by Angela Wylie (The Age)

But enough about gloves, what did you think of the choice Jennifer Hawkins made regarding her head gear?  I am not sure whether they are supposed to be cats ears, which would have been very cute, or Mickey Mouse ears?

Well Jennifer looks stunning in everything, but I am not sure many could pull off this look.  For me I prefer the hat or the fascinator!

For all the best photos from the Cup, check out The Age Photo Gallery.  And if you are still in need of a dress for the races, why not check out Covelli and go a little vintage!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacqueline permalink
    November 3, 2010 12:07 pm

    I thought the “ears” were tacky. It looks like something a typical bogan with no etiquette would wear because they couldn’t afford a hat or fascinator and don’t care for class. Especially considering she is supposedly a fashion ambassador and it being the 150th Melbourne Cup. You would think a “model” would be able to stick to tradition regarding the dress code on an historic day for a race steeped in tradition. She never fails to make me feel strangely embarrassed every time I look at her. It’s really a shame you put her picture up, all the other girls in this thread look fantastic. It’s sad when the general public look like they know more about and have put more effort into Cup day than the ambassadors have.

  2. November 3, 2010 1:43 pm

    Thank you so very much for the kind words.. I had stiched the dress together that morning at 2am and i was in such a panic to complete it in time to match the fascinator i had made..

    The cape was simply an ‘incase of emergency” item.. but it centainly paid off once the rain hit =)

    For more information regarding any of my custom designs your welcome to contact me at http://www.utopiacouture.com.au
    Thanks again =)

  3. Jacqueline permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:31 pm

    Alvira, kudos to you. You are obviously really talented. Can you make something for me next year? 😉

    Stunning!

    • November 4, 2010 10:11 am

      Hi Jacqueline,

      Thank you so kindly 🙂
      It would be my pleasure to make something for you next year..

      And an even more delight to catch up with you at the races over a drink and share our thoughts about the fashions on the day.

      • Jacqueline permalink
        November 4, 2010 11:33 am

        That would be wonderful! And sorry for spelling your name incorrectly, I realised as soon as I sent it!

  4. Caroline permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:11 am

    Hey Vicky

    Amazing look – love the matching hat, gloves, shoes, bag in purple and the outfit just right for that day!
    Do you have a website or can you send me pics of some of your other designs?
    Maybe some of the celebs should have consulted you rather than the micky mouse designers they were obviously using!!

    • November 9, 2010 11:02 am

      Hi Caroline!

      Thanks so much for your positive comments. I do go out of my to co-ordinate my outfits and I certainly made the Chanel inspired outfit in the tweed fabric to prepare for the changeable weather conditions in Melbourne. The gloves and hat were certainly needed on a rainy day like Cup Day this year.

      The sun came out just in time for the photo-shoot with ‘The Age’ , which was just perfect.

      To see more of my race-wear/dress designs, you’re welcome to visit my website:-
      http://www.vezzano.com.au

      Thanks!

  5. November 9, 2010 11:38 am

    Thank you Covelli for choosing my outfit as one of your favourites for Fashions on The Field – Cup Day.

    I have a real passion for designing and making vintage outfits for race events. My pink tweed skirt suit was a 1950s ‘Chanel’ inspiration. The hat was a ‘Neil Grigg’ purple feather hat, teamed with matching purple gloves (I had them colour died to match) and purple patent ‘Louriblu’ shoes.

    The outfit definitely kept me warm for the crazy weather we had in Melbourne that day!

    I would love to visit your store to source accessories for my next vintage race-wear designs, including red-carpet glamorous dress designs.

    You’re welcome to view my designs at:
    http://www.vezzano.com.au

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

